Sweet potato starch, corn starch gluten free and more for your food creations

Shop By

3 Items

Set Descending Direction
View as Grid List

3 Items

Set Descending Direction
View as Grid List

FAQs about Starches for Food

What are starches used for?

This ingredient also known as amylum, it is used in the food industry to confer the desired characteristics on foods. Although these may already have starches, these do not compare to the properties provided by modified starches (process carried out by physical, chemical, enzymatic techniques) to improve their usefulness in industry. These can be used as thickening agents, stabilizers, wetting agents, emulsifiers, binders, anticaking agents.
Being abundant and accessible, it represents an excellent raw material for food to have a better texture and consistency, without increasing its caloric level. Thanks to this it is used in beverages, dairy products, pastries, jams, chewing gums and pasta.

Are starches carbs?

Yes, in fact carbohydrates can be classified into three groups:
1. Sugar
2. Fiber
3. Starches
The difference between sugar and starches is that starch is made up of many sugar units linked together.

How do starches thicken sauces?

Starches are used as thickening agents in sauces due to the high molecular weight carbohydrates they contain. These form gels on contact with water and heat due to the polysaccharides amylose and amyloceptin. This thickening power is more significant in cereal grains and tuber roots.
There are two states present in this process:
1. Gelatinization: In this stage the heat causes the amylose and amyloceptin to absorb water and swell.
2. Sticking: To get to this point, the mixture needs to heat up a few more degrees. This generates the thickness of the sauce that is so desired.
The most used ingredients for this purpose are Wheat Flour, Cornstarch, Arrowroot, Tapioca Starch and Xanthan Gum.

What starches are gluten free?

If you are looking for a gluten-free option, we recommend that you use starches that are free of wheat. In this case, we suggest corn starch, which comes from grains, and arrowroot, tapioca, and potato starches, which are made from roots. Remember to check the labels of the products to make sure they do not contain another additive that may not be suitable for people allergic to gluten.

What kind of starches can I find at mySibi?

In our market you can find natural starches made from potato, corn, barley, maize, rice, tapioca, arrow root; processed starches like malto dextrines, and modified starches. Remember that in mySibi you find the best starches from suppliers from all over the world at the best price.